Southgate & Roberts Funeral Directors

58 reviews

  • 5 Brian Swart 7th Apr 2019

    The gratitude and respect that I have for Liam the Funeral Director and his wonderful Colleagues at the Ipswich Funeral home Southgate & Roberts is almost beyond my capability to express in the written word. My dear Mother passed away in March 2019, she had several health issues but her death was unexpected. My Mothers passing hit my family, family friends and I like an express train. As the eldest son, I took responsibility for organizing what needs to be done after a family loses such a special person. I was numb with grief and shock but thankfully I made a call to Southgate & Roberts. Liam introduced himself then he talked my family and me through every step we needed to take to lay my Mother to rest. This review could become a book of gratitude with ease but I will mention that at one point my Mother thought she had secured a plot that would allow her to be laid to rest with her own Mother and Husband. However this was not the case and it was only because of Liam's professionalism, knowledge and dedication that my Mother had her wish forefilled

  • 5 Carol Sherriff 3rd Apr 2019

    For family reasons, we needed to organise a cremation and ceremony at very short notice. Liam, Andrew and Corinne couldn't have been more helpful. The result was a beautiful ceremony that reflected the life and personality of my mother in a way that her family and friends will look back on with a smile, with great love and of course sadness. Thank you so much.

  • 5 Martin Forsdike 27th Mar 2019

    I found Southgate & Roberts Funeral Directors to be very professional and offered a great service at a very reasonable cost. Everything went very smoothly on the day which was excellent as one doesn't want to be worrying about the tiny details. They were exceptional and I would not hesitate to recommend them and indeed Very caring use them again should I have the need. Very caring and compassionate. MR.MG Forsdike.

  • 5 Naomi Posey 3rd Mar 2019

    They provided excellent service by coming to our family home to talk through our requests. They did everything they said they would and we did not have to worry about a thing. We would highly recommend their services.

  • 5 Alison Quamina 9th Feb 2019

    Thank you so much for helping us as family could not fault the kindness and support given You guys have been there for us through every step and it has been appreciated The Quamimas xxxx

  • 5 Beth Stevens 27th Jan 2019

    They made organising my fathers funeral very simple. They were so kind and helped us every step of the way. Thank you. 

  • 5 Nicola Davies 19th Dec 2018

    Liam and the team at Southgate and Roberts are all wonderful. They arranged the funeral for my dad and everything was carried out with compassion and respect nothing was too much trouble I would highly recommend them.

  • 5 Michelle Dormer 7th Dec 2018

    Card in the post...The best, most honourable people in the world, an absolute pleasure to deal with, very reassuring and calming throughout our journey. Thank you from our hearts...Michelle, Roger, Ben, Jasper, Rebecca and Jacob.

  • 5 Chandravadan Patel 6th Dec 2018

    Our appreciation and heartfelt thanks to Liam and Ian for their excellent support and professional services. Also for allowing us to use the chapel to carry out our Hindu religious rites. The whole service went smoothly from start to finish. The PATEL family

  • 5 Stephen Nicholls 24th Nov 2018

    We sent Liam Roberts a very tight time-frame due to family circumstances and his advice was invaluable and compassion & understanding very much appreciated. A faultless service and highly recommended by our entire family.

  • 5 Louise Hetherington 13th Oct 2018

    This is our second funeral with them and we wouldn’t want to use anybody else. Liam’s approach is personal, supportive and friendly and you know you are in safe hands. Nothing is too much and at what is a very hard time, you are put at ease that they will do everything that they can to help and try and make things easier. I can’t recommend enough!

  • 5 Lyn Rush 1st Oct 2018

    I can only agree with other reviews here. Everything was arranged professionally and with compassion. Liam went above and beyond what we expected. I can't praise him enough. I would definitely recommend them to everyone.

  • 5 Steve Scurrell 24th Sep 2018

    Excellent service as always.

  • 5 Ron Simpson 2nd Jul 2018

    From the moment I was introduced to Liam Roberts until the final moments of my wife's woodland burial, my family, friends and I were treated with compassion, dignity and respect from all concerned with the arrangements.   Liam's eulogy at the graveside encapsulated the highlights of my wife's life and was spoken with such sincerity, it was hard to think that he had never met her. I have had several phone calls from those who attended expressing their views that they could not believe that a funeral could be so uplifting and that they, together with myself and my family have been left with a memory that will last a lifetime. Heartfelt thanks to Liam and his team for making this very sad day into something I will take great comfort from for the rest of my life.

  • 5 Natasha Constable 18th Jun 2018

    We are very pleased and so appreciative to all the time, effort and support given to us and too our late mum from all the team at Southgate&Roberts. The compassion shown has been outstanding and has known no bounds and we are so grateful. I'm very happy with the service given. Thank you.

  • 5 Manish Patel 6th Jun 2018

    We picked Southgate & Roberts out of the available directors on bank holiday weekend. But they turned out to be solid 22k. Everything was done as per the Family wish with nothing being any trouble for them. I would recommend them without any reservation whatsoever. Thank You for all that you did to make our lives easier and giving my father a farewell he would have wanted. Manish Patel

  • 5 Calvin Breadman 7th May 2018

    Sadly my 90yr old Mother died in hospital recently, the nurses handed me a NHS trust booklet titled “What do I do now”? in the back of the booklet there were several adverts for funeral directors, the one that stood out above the others was Southgate & Roberts and their coveted accreditation by the UK Funeral industry, this gave me the confidence to contact them at this very difficult time. From our very first meeting we found both Liam & Bob totally professional with a warm and friendly approach, we were always put at ease with each subsequent meeting with a welcoming cup of tea and a tentative ear, guiding us gently through the process, we could and did contact them at any time and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would therefore, with the utmost confidence highly recommend them.

  • 5 Tracie Pascoe 4th May 2018

    Thank you for making a difficult day run smoothly. Kind and supportive throughout the whole process. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • 5 Trevor Wright 24th Apr 2018

    I cannot recommend Southgate & Roberts enough. Liam Roberts was absolutely superb during the whole process and from the first meeting until the funeral itself, Liam was always available, nothing was too much trouble and he was always professional and respectful. They looked after everything and was really a single point of contact which made things a lot easier during this difficult time. Also at the chapel of rest, Liam and his colleagues had really done a great job in presenting my dad and created a vision that I will treasure forever. Most importantly, Liam was our guide on the day of the funeral and kept me advised at all stages and was always thoughtful in making sure me and my family were looked after at all times during the day. Something which I am very grateful for and again made the day go smoothly. Liam's advice and guidance was invaluable and the respect he showed was second to none.

  • 5 Louise Hetherington 17th Apr 2018

    A fantastic service and fully appreciate their professionalism, care and kindness to ensure everything was arranged. Liam was with us every step of the way, so approachable and always there when needed. We were supported through it all and they provided a great service on the day. I can't thank Liam enough!

  • 5 David Ward 6th Apr 2018

    Thank you for all your help

  • 5 Hayley Brown 4th Apr 2018

    Nothing was too much trouble with Southgate & Roberts, they helped us through every step with my mothers funeral. Would highly recommend them to anyone for their friendly and thoughtful approach.

  • 5 Stuart Smith 12th Mar 2018

    First class funeral directors from initial contact till the funeral and final closure. Extremely helpful and understanding, highly recommended.

  • 5 Michael Head 8th Mar 2018

    Every aspect was covered in an excellent manner.  I would highly recommend this company

  • 5 Michael Neale 2nd Mar 2018

    Southgate and Roberts have provided our family with an excellent service, from the initial telephone call they have been professional, understanding, caring and flexible to our personal needs. Readily available to help answer any questions and supportive to any worries we may have had 24/7. Bob particularly took the burden from us at this difficult time. They made our mums funeral run smoothly and with utmost respect and professionalism also helping us to keep costs down. I would highly recommend their services to anyone, being a smaller company they are more personal and friendly than the larger companies I dealt with previously. Mum was in very good hands with them, a huge thank you to you from us all.